NHCA Awards

Award descriptions and past recipients can be accessed below. NHCA awards are presented each year at the annual conference.  

Award nominations are due by October 15th each year, except for the Safe-in-Sound Award and Conference Awards. Conference Awards are nominated by attendees at the annual conference. Safe-in-Sound Award nomination due dates for nominating others (early June) and self-nominations (mid-August) vary slightly each year. See the Safe-in-Sound website for dates and how to nominate. All other nominations should be emailed to [email protected].

To learn more about the recipients and their specific contributions, NHCA members can access the Spectrum Conference Supplements.

Lifetime Achievement Award


Established in 1999 in order to recognize the distinguished career of Don Gasaway. Don was presented with this award in 200 at the Denver NHCA conference. Intended to recognize a lifetime of extraordinary accomplishments in the hearing loss prevention profession as well as service to NHCA.

Nominated by Executive Council. Award winner recognized at annual conference.

Lifetime Achievement Award & Recipients

Outstanding Hearing Conservationist Award

Established to recognize outstanding contributions to or achievement within the field of hearing conservation. First presented to Aram Glorig and is conferred annually if a suitable candidate is selected by the Nominations Committee.

Nominated by Executive Council.

Outstanding Hearing Conservationist Award & Recipients

Michael Beall Threadgill
Leadership & Service Award 

This award, first presented in 1986 to Alan Feldman, is conferred annually if a suitable candidate is recommended by the Nominations Task Force and approved by the Executive Council.

Nominated by Executive Council.

Michael Beall Threadgill Award & Recipients

Safe-In-Sound Award

 In 2007, The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) has partnered with the National Hearing Conservation Association (NHCA) to create an award for Excellence in Hearing Loss Prevention. This award is called the Safe-In-Sound Award. The objectives of this award are to recognize organizations that document measurable achievements in hearing loss prevention programs, and to obtain information on their real world successes.

Nomination Committee reviews all submissions.

Safe-In-Sound Award & Recipients

Conference Awards

Outstanding Lecture Award
Bestowed annually for the best presentation at the annual conference of NHCA. The purpose is to provide speakers to deliver high-quality, interesting, informative and polished lectures. 

Nominated based on conference evaluation forms collected by conference attendees.

NHCA Outstanding Lecture Award Recipients 

Outstanding Poster Award
Established in 1997, this award is given for the best poster presentation at the annual conference of NHCA. The purpose of the award is to provide additional incentive to poster presenters to deliver high-quality, interesting, informative and polished posters.

Nominated based on conference evaluation forms collected from conference attendees.

NHCA Outstanding Poster Award Recipients

Media Award

Established to recognize the efforts of writers and/or producers of news features that serve to heighten public awareness of the hazards of noise.

Nominated by the NHCA membership. 

Media Award & Recipients